FAST PICKING!?

Discuss playing styles and techniques, or share your own here.
ZERO

Hi ive been playing for four years and i find fast picking near on impossible :oops:
even stuff like early metalica and stuff the riffs....i just cant do it at all. :(
its really frustrating.....the only way i can do it is if i hold the pick in a really stupid way.
help please
jemgirl

oeps :oops:
summer_sky

so, Mod777....

how do you hold your pick?
or, did i miss that bit of info as i scanned through your leads? :wink: lol
jemgirl

oh, its a matter of feeling summer, to hold your`e plectrum (pic) is away of feeling ,what is comfortble for me is maybe not for somebody els :wink:

patricia
The Extremist

Try learning alternating picking.

Also, the fast picking in Early Metallica is called "Chugging"

To chug really fast, you just got to keep at it. But its all in the Wrist. Watch Megadeth's live DVD called "Rude Awakening"

Watch Dave Mustaine at the start of She-Wolf. He hardly moves, thats cause he does it with the slight move of his Wrist.
tim_knox

yah i was always into playing like classic rock stuff and some vai and ej etc, then when i went to school my roomate listened to a lot and played a lot of metallica nd pantera soo he was great at chugging, and i couldn't do it for shit. soo i just kept trying it and trying it and i can get it pretty good now!!!
The Extremist

Well, if you want people to aspire to when you want to chug fast, look at:

John Schafer of Iced Earth, this guy is lightning fast.

Dave Mustaine of Megadeth, Fastest about.
eric_921
Newcomer

well i like the way Vai plays the guitar is like a wizard making his magic comes out with those dimarzio and jem model i think that the arent a best way to hold ur pick to play but there are alot of wrong ways so make the one most confortable to you and remember it need top be clean and fast no fast and very distortined
Kevan