Chord Vocabulary

Discuss playing styles and techniques, or share your own here.
jcat
Newcomer

Hey everyone,
I have been playing guitar for about 5 years now, and feel very limited to the chords i know , could you give me suggestions on building my knowledge of chords, I want to use more chords in my playing. thanks
miker

Intervals of the Major Scale are a good place to start... here's a small step to understanding them:

Three classes of Intervals:
1. Perfect Consonants = primes (unisons), 4th’s, 5th’s, octaves, and 11th’s
2. Imperfect Consonants = 3rd’s, 6th’s, 10th’s, and 13th’s
3. Dissonants = 2nd’s, 7th’s, and 9th’s

It is most common to call imperfect and dissonant consonants major intervals -- other intervals are perfect (i.e., perfect 4th, perfect 5th...)..

Naming Intervals as to Type:
Intervals are given names on the basis of type and quality. Type must always be determined before quality is determined.
Interval type is determined by counting up from the lowest note to the higher note on a musically notated staff. Always count the lowest note as 1. Proceed counting all the lines and spaces in between. Each line is given a value of 1 as is each space.

Note: odd numbered intervals are evenly spaced (i.e., both notes are on lines or on spaces);
even numbered intervals are oddly spaced (i.e., one not will be on a line, the other a space)

Naming Intervals as to Quality:
The quality of the interval is determined by:
1. The interval type (number)
2. The number of ½ steps between the two notes to be compared relative to the major scale.

Example: Major 3rd, Major 7th, Perfect 4th, etc...

The major scale is made up of 2 whole steps, a half step, 3 whole steps, and another ½ step

Flatting major intervals results in minor intervals, flatting and sharping intervals result in diminished or augmented intervals.

Example:

Major and Perfect Intervals
½ step expansion = augmented

Major Intervals
½ step contraction = minor

Minor Intervals