LATEST NEWS

Press Release US Tour

June 26, 2013

GUITAR ALCHEMIST STEVE VAI

CONTINUES “STORY OF LIGHT 2013 TOUR”

WITH NORTH AMERICAN DATES THIS FALL

 

The Story of Light…finds [Vai] continuing to push the envelope as a composer, arranger and, most of all, as a guitarist who continues to raise the bar for himself and others.” – Gibson.com

Nashville, TN – June 24, 2013:  After an overwhelming enthusiastic response to his over 90 shows performed last year on his “Story of Light 2013 Tour,” virtuoso guitarist and visionary composer Steve Vai has added an additional run of North American dates.  Fan reviews of the shows have been phenomenal and can be read here at ticketmaster.com.

 

The tour is in support The Story Of Light, his critically acclaimed solo album of original material, which Gibson.com says “finds him continuing to push the envelope as a composer, arranger and, most of all, as a guitarist who continues to raise the bar for himself and others,” was released on Favored Nations Entertainment, the label Vai founded in 1999.

 

Vai will kick off this solo run October 16 in Santa Cruz, CA.  The Story of Light 2013 Tour will take him throughout the country, with additional shows in San Diego, Las Vegas, Birmingham, Austin and Houston. (Full List of Dates are below; visit Vai’s website for ticket information.)

 

The Story of Light 2013 tour will feature a unique premium package — the Evo Experience – which includes a meet and greet pass, Q&A session with Vai, access to sound check, an exclusive EVO Experience laminate and other Vai merchandise items. EVO Experience premium tickets will be available for purchase through Vai’s website, www.Vai.com. A limited number of EVO Experience tickets are available for each show.

 

The Story of Light is Vai’s first studio record in seven years and described by AOL’s Noisecreep as “A brilliant record, fully-loaded with all of the soaring, tasteful playing that defines Vai’s work.” The album’s sprawling and expressive 12-song set continues a conceptual and cosmic narrative arc begun on the artist’s acclaimed album Real Illusions: Reflections (2005.)  The storyline follows the journey of a man driven mad by grief, intertwining tragedy, revelation, enlightenment, and redemption.  Throughout, three-time GRAMMY ® Award winner Vai’s lead guitar is as lyrically resonant as it is technically masterful, his licks and solos bending sounds and listeners’ minds in equal measure.

 

 

CURRENT TOUR DATES:

Wed, Oct 16 Santa Cruz, CA The Catalyst

Thurs, Oct 17 San Diego, CA House of Blues

Fri, Oct 18 Ventura, CA Ventura Theatre

Sat, Oct 19 Las Vegas, NV House of Blues

Sun, Oct 20 Chandler, AZ Wildhorse Casino

Tues, Oct 22 Tucson, AZ Rialto

Wed, Oct 23 Flagstaff, AZ Orpheum Theatre

Thurs, Oct 24 Santa Fe, NM The Lensic

Sun, Oct 27 Kansas City, KS Harrah’s Voodoo Lounge

Tues, Oct 29 Columbia, MO Blue Note

Wed, Oct 30 Springfield, MO Gillioz Theatre

Thurs, Oct 31 Council Bluffs, IA Horseshoe Whiskey Road House

Fri, Nov 1 Des Moines, IA Hoyt Sherman

Sat, Nov 2 Bloomington, IL The Castle Theater

Sun, Nov 3 Joliet, IL Mojoes

Tues, Nov 5 Columbus, OH Newport Music Hall

Wed, Nov 6 Indianapolis, IN Egyptian Room

Thurs, Nov 7 Grand Rapids, MI The Intersection

Fri, Nov 8 Rama, ON Casino Rama *

Sat, Nov 9 Cincinnati, OH Bogart’s

Sun, Nov 10 Knoxville, TN Bijou Theatre

Tues, Nov 12 Chattanooga, TN Track 29

Wed, Nov 13 Birmingham, AL Workplay Theatre

Thurs, Nov 14 Mobile, AL Soul Kitchen

Fri, Nov 15 New Orleans, LA House of Blues

Sat, Nov 16 Baton Rouge, LA Varsity Theatre

Sun, Nov 17 Little Rock, AR Juanita’s

Tues, Nov 19 Tulsa, OK Cain’s Ballroom

Wed, Nov 20 San Antonio, TX Backstage Live

Thurs, Nov 21 Austin, TX Paramount Theatre

Fri, Nov 22 Dallas, TX House of Blues

Sat, Nov 23 Houston, TX House of Blues

 

*EVO experience not available on this date

 



Leave a Reply


You must be logged in to post a comment.