vai legacy

The name says it all! Discuss Steve's studios, your studios and gear set-ups, amps and effects here. This is not for discussing guitars (Steve's or otherwise).
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
laficojr
Member
Member
Posts: 1244
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2004 5:03 am
Location: São Paulo/Brazil
Contact:

vai legacy

#1 Post by laficojr » Tue Jan 20, 2004 10:44 am

hi,how can i get the steve live sound(like astoria) with a ibanez 250b,one ds-1 distortion and a legacy half stack(settings)?

bkornaker1977
Member
Member
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 12:22 pm

#2 Post by bkornaker1977 » Wed Jan 21, 2004 11:55 am

use the settings from your other post ( those are dead on acurate) and set the ds-1 with tone 11 o'clock, distortion 11 o'clock, and level 1 o'clock. use only ds-1 for solos...........and make sure ya got dimarzio evolution pickups in your guitar.

it doesnt get any more accurate than that..............

and make sure ya got vais chops..................

User avatar
laficojr
Member
Member
Posts: 1244
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2004 5:03 am
Location: São Paulo/Brazil
Contact:

#3 Post by laficojr » Thu Jan 22, 2004 6:46 am

thank you

Tonezone
Member
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2004 1:18 pm
Location: Never Never Land
Contact:

#4 Post by Tonezone » Mon Feb 23, 2004 1:30 pm

I bought a carvin legacy halfstack almost a year ago, the sound is amazing. I play in a band and for that the legacy is ideal, i can cover the majoraty of songs and sounds with it. How ever it seems like the vai tone is way out of reach.

Could it be that because i am mostly playing at low volumes ( around 2, witch is still very loud) i am not getting the full lead sound. I have tried the carvin websites lead demos but because i am either playing it low or in a small room it seems to sound bad. If i try i can get a good sound anywhere but it doesnt sound very VAI (not that i am trying to copy Vai's tone, its just a great sound for anyone to base theirs on).........Could this just be the low volume factor???

bkornaker1977
Member
Member
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 12:22 pm

#5 Post by bkornaker1977 » Mon Feb 23, 2004 2:33 pm

could be.........i play mine at volume 6 ( but i also use a marshall power break to control that volume) and it seems to get the best tones from volumes 4 thru 6.

vai tones come from his evolution pickups too!

Tonezone
Member
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2004 1:18 pm
Location: Never Never Land
Contact:

#6 Post by Tonezone » Fri Feb 27, 2004 2:41 pm

yeh i use a jem 7v with the evolution pickups, but yeah i barely scrape 2 on the volume most of the time so i think that will probably be it. Even though its low it still sounds amazing, but id still like to beef it up. Does using the power break help inprove the sound of the legacy?

bkornaker1977
Member
Member
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 12:22 pm

#7 Post by bkornaker1977 » Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:35 pm

the power brake doesnt make the amp sound different, it allows you to crank the amp loud but keep the overall volume coming out of the speakers not so loud so you can play at bedrrom levels or smaller club gigs without the sound guy telling you to 'turn it down!". this helps to get those tubes glowin hot, which also fattens up the tone and brings a natural sag and compression to the amp tone.

kinda like having the amp set to "10", but its only as loud ( volume) as if it was set at 2 or 3.

Jai0705
Member
Member
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2003 12:16 am
Location: Pacific NorthWest
Contact:

#8 Post by Jai0705 » Tue Mar 16, 2004 9:06 am

I think having a power brake of some sort is essential if you have a tube amp, especially in your bedroom.

Little_Alligator
Member
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 7:24 am
Location: - - ENGLAND - -

#9 Post by Little_Alligator » Tue Mar 16, 2004 10:36 am

Emerson wrote:I think having a power brake of some sort is essential if you have a tube amp, especially in your bedroom.
I was looking into getting a power break too, can you recomend any good models???

Jiboom!

SPM

bkornaker1977
Member
Member
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 12:22 pm

#10 Post by bkornaker1977 » Tue Mar 16, 2004 11:16 pm

well, I use a Marshall Power Break ( which some people swear not to get because it kills your amp!) but mine does great and I couldnt live without it. Ive never had a problem with it.

Also try the THD HOt Plate, same thing as the power break by Marshall but by a differnt manufacturer.

expect tp pay around 300-350 u.s dollars for a new one........

LordHar
Member
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 11:45 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

#11 Post by LordHar » Tue Mar 16, 2004 11:37 pm

I'm using a Koch Loadbox with my Legacy, and it sounds great. The amp is still loud, but for recording it really works.

Cheers,
Harry.

Post Reply