Login with a social network:

It is currently Fri Feb 23, 2018 4:16 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 9:33 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 1:21 pm
Posts: 239
Location: Ultra World
Hi Guys,

Does anyone have amplitube software and if so what do you think of it?

Thx


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 12:55 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 2:18 am
Posts: 1542
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
i have almost everything from amplitube
i love it.

its amazing.

in a studio setup (like me gtr player doing bass once in a while) amplitube ampeg is amazing for just DI-ing the bass and getting amazing sound.

overall the best i have is 2.0- hendrix is cool
Live is good if you have many versions of it
the metal ones great and the fender one sounds great and unique too

i love them-
it really gives a guitar player a way to do 're-amping' without $10000000000 in metallica rig/studio money


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 2:17 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 1:21 pm
Posts: 239
Location: Ultra World
Awesome thanks for the reply Jeries, do you find the tones good generally? and not fizzy and sterile like other modelling applications (mentioning no names)..lol! and can a good vai tone be achieved??? hmmm


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 3:22 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 2:18 am
Posts: 1542
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
I think it comes stock with a preset called something like "Passion & War" is is a p&w vai tone... it sounds good. i think the key to that setup is the amount of gain and the perfect amount of delay.

theres great stuff you can do with it
some of the metal tones can get annoying however some can sound very good.

the next thing i want to buy is an old ADA MP-1 unit (random thought)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 3:24 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 1:21 pm
Posts: 239
Location: Ultra World
Thanks Jeries, which version of amplitube do you have?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 3:27 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 2:18 am
Posts: 1542
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
i have almost all of them
ampeg, live 2, fender, hendrix, live and metal


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 10:41 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 1:21 pm
Posts: 239
Location: Ultra World
Thanks again Jeries, how do you connect to the PC? Im thinking of the Stealthplug as i would like a headphone socket too, but is there a better option? I hear Behringer do one?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 12:41 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 2:18 am
Posts: 1542
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
oh let me clairfy
i use amplitube as a RTAS plug in program

and i DI the guitar right into pro tools.

thats the best i'd say for quality....

something awesome is the people that make amplitube came out with this $200 wah pedal looking thing thats a complete interface with a compter i think they have another interface too...i'd go with that


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 5:21 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 10:04 am
Posts: 1774
Location: PETERSFIELD,HANTS
Another option.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 7:28 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 3:04 pm
Posts: 363
Location: Barcelona
Never tryed Amplitube, but I have tryed Guitar Rig 4, and Waves GTR3 and i have to say they sound really really good.. almost like the real thing, even the noise it picks up sounds like the real thing..

That being said, you will need a really good computer and soundcard to avoid latency, i have around 4ms with a pci m-audio delta66 card, and a pentium4 3,3ghz, and while for some ppl 4ms is negligible, it seems like too much for my ear.. (even more if you pretend recording..)

Also you must have a perfect electric installation in your place.. it must be grounded, and as more insulated the better, having a separate outlet for the pc, or even insulating the pci card from the computer case (wich i did), otherwise it will be unusable for recording purposes (in my opinion)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 1:37 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 2:18 am
Posts: 1542
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
FRETPICK wrote:
Another option.

at $900... someones much better off with a mbox and decent monitors... hell you could probably even buy a decent PC with whats left over...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:12 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 10:04 am
Posts: 1774
Location: PETERSFIELD,HANTS
Jeries wrote:
FRETPICK wrote:
Another option.

at $900... someones much better off with a mbox and decent monitors... hell you could probably even buy a decent PC with whats left over...


I meant it to be another option not a necessity. There is always the ad market/ebay. It may not be as you say cost effective but it does reach it's design target. In reality the manufacturing costs & distribution are reflected in the price.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 4:03 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 5:43 am
Posts: 1508
Location: Brittany, France.
I've tried Guitar Rig, GTR waves but when regarding tone/realism noone comes close in my opinion to amplitube 2 especially concerning distortion. The overall choice of sounds and tweaks is amazing and very user-friendly, no wonder you see that little program running on Dave Weiner's screen(if u look closely)Riff of the week you tube videos.

I use a v-amp 2 (patch bank 9 D plus I cutoff the effects and reverb to get a clean neutral sound already compressed) straight into soundcard (shitty realtek chipset-4ms latency- or Line6 UX2 depending on setup and mood of day/time to plug everything)
into amplitube 2 as a VST in ableton.

Now I'm pretty sure Patill will join in at this point to say it will never exactly sound like the real thing, well I just can't afford (Who can?) the thousands of configurations, heads, preamps, racks, miking environments, and if properly mixed I don't think there are many people who could actually say if it's tube-based or not.

Amplitube 2 rules. And for metalheads I even think you can get better metal sounds than with amplitube metal(disappointing and much more CPU demanding)..haven't tried Hendrix one though.

Hope that helps.

:peace


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 12:05 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 1:21 pm
Posts: 239
Location: Ultra World
Thanks for the replys guys, yep i have run a latency check and all seems fine there. Im looking for a good USB desktop interface to use with amplitube, one that has guitar input/headphone socket, left and right powered speaker jacks....any thoughts budget i guess around $250... can the Line 6 UX1 be used with it?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 12:30 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 3:04 pm
Posts: 363
Location: Barcelona
Well, there's a lot of players in that ball park..

These seem to stand out for me:
http://www.thomann.de/es/line6_pod_studio_ux2.htm (very guitar focused)
http://www.thomann.de/es/maudio_fast_track_pro.htm

Those look good too:
http://www.thomann.de/es/emu_0404_usb_white.htm
http://www.thomann.de/es/lexicon_omega_studio.htm

Do your research, define you needs and goals, read tons of reviews, and decide.. lol

I think pci must be better than usb in latency matters, and i have heard quite some experiences about usb or firewire (mostly) interfaces blowing up due to bad current.. but of course, those external boxes can be very handy at times... also good thing is that they include canon phantom powered inputs, so you wont need an external mixer if you ever need to plug anything that way..

Personally i went more old school, and got an internal pci card with an outside box with 1/4 plugs, and then got a mixer to use with microphones or a D.I. (red box classic)

all paths lead to Rome, they say..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group