Whispering a Prayer

The name says it all! Discuss Steve's studios, your studios and gear set-ups, amps and effects here. This is not for discussing guitars (Steve's or otherwise).
BadHorsie777

Whispering a Prayer

#1 Post by BadHorsie777 » Tue May 02, 2006 4:24 pm

Hey guys

what is the best way to play the volume swell solo on "Whispering a Prayer"?

I have an old Kramer Sustainer, so i can play the actuall song bits, but i dont have a volume pedal and im not that good at fast swells

Any hints/practice tips?

j.arledge

#2 Post by j.arledge » Tue May 02, 2006 5:55 pm

the volume pedal is almost a must to play it . there isn't much of a way around it .

al

#3 Post by al » Tue May 02, 2006 8:51 pm

theres an auto swell Setting on the podxt i use it a lot, it gives a lovely warmness to the sound very whispering a prayer like

volume pedal tho

Logic

#4 Post by Logic » Tue May 02, 2006 9:59 pm

And a Whammy pedal and a Sustainer and a boat load of talent and a buncha finess and a lot of emotion and a whammy bar that stays in tune good. and a.. you get the point. :wink:

Stephen Brown

#5 Post by Stephen Brown » Thu May 04, 2006 8:52 am

Anyone know the delay setting's for the intro & what the whammy is set to?

Rob A

#6 Post by Rob A » Mon May 08, 2006 6:37 am

Is a whammy used? The octave up bits sound like harmonics generated by the Sustainer.

I could easily be wrong here. On the Astoria DVD, i don't think you see him using it for WaP.
a boat load of talent and a buncha finess and a lot of emotion and a whammy bar that stays in tune good. and a.. you get the point

Yeah that sounds about right... I think the beauty in it is the way it does actually whisper. This would be the volume swells. Also, Steve says that he turns the guitar volume down to 1.5, so the sounds is hardly distorted. Also, the sustainer is used to help you phrase wiht the whammy bar, again helping it to really 'whisper'.

yggdrasil
Newcomer

#7 Post by yggdrasil » Mon May 08, 2006 2:02 pm