Help ! I suck on guitar !

Discuss playing styles and techniques, or share your own here.
KeithH

Help ! I suck on guitar !

#1 Post by KeithH » Sun Nov 14, 2004 5:29 am

Help !

I play elelctric guitar in my home as a hobby, for half an hour here and there every other day.

I have an RG2550EX, a washburn amp and an old multi effects unit. Ive got an old strat copy I could take into the lounge and practise on to get more hours in.

I have been playing for a few years on and off, but all I ever seem to play is Enter Sandman, and a couple of old Gary Moore and easy Van Halen songs. (rythym parts, not the solos!)

I went to see a band live last week and their guitar player was a lot younger than me(Im 34), but had Sultans of swing, Van Halen Jump, I want to break free, solos included, down great ! I wish I could really really play, I was really jealous.

Any suggestions of techniques/practices methods that can break me out of this rut and get me playing well ?

Any suggestions/tips/schedules GREATLY appreciated.

Dont suggest I start with "for the love of god" though !! ha ha

PS I know NO THEORY OR MUSIC knowledge at all, I just pick stuff up by ear by moving round the neck until it sounds right.

Come on super shredders, you were rubbish once, how did you get good ?

Svante

#2 Post by Svante » Sun Nov 14, 2004 5:48 am

Hi there!

sorry for my little broke english.