VAI.COM

The Official Steve Vai Website Message Boards.
It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 2:51 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Better distorted tone?
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 12:05 pm 
Newcomer

Guys, I need help. I'm not very happy with my lead tone right now. It is very gritty, harsh, and sharp. I am using a JCM 800 combo with a boss ME-50(Which has all the boss stuff like the MEtal Zone, DS-1, Blues Driver. and ect. in it, along with chorus and modulation effects and delays) with my Ibanez PGM 301 guitars. I want a more soaring lead tone. When ever I go to do any alternate picking, legato, sweep, or bends it just seems weak. What are the components to a strong lead tone? Could I be eqing wrong? I dont use any effects....(I know I need to develope my own sound and I am working on it, however, I am a noob and need guidance to figure out the basic framework from which I can expand.) I really need some help guys. Thanks!

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 12:36 pm 

Mids are a major component of guitar tone, and definatley where a lot of players tones fall on. Often the root of tone problems is a lack of, or sometimes an excess of mids. As well as that, back off the treble, put the bass up a bit and back off the gain and prescence ever-so-slightly. You could also use a slight amount of chorus or delay to thicken up your tone a little. :)

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 2:46 pm 

why back off on tremble?
good tremble really makes guitar scream (personal preference) :mrgreen:
too much bass fucks up the rest of the "sound image" that "belongs" to other instruments

did you try any other pedal then ME-50 ?

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 1:13 am 

get a good compressor

Boss CS-3

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 1:39 am