VAI.COM

The Official Steve Vai Website Message Boards.
It is currently Fri Sep 19, 2014 9:57 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 7:32 am 

I am a student of dave martone, if you dont know him or his playing you should check it out at davemartone.com.

we've been working with dominant pentatonics

2 notes per string + five different box shapes etc...

A7
----------------------3-7-3-----------------------
------------------5-7-------7-5-------------------
--------------4-6---------------6-4---------------
----------4-5-----------------------5-4-----------
------4-7-------------------------------7-4-------
--3-7---------------------------------------7-3---

its a cool thing to note that the root isnt in the scale itself which is quite convenient when soloing.

anyways the idea is that you can use this shape to imply other modes
so if we were in C#min (dorian minor) we could use an F#dominant pentatonic to imply dorian.

now i understand why this works in this situation but i want to learn how to relate this shape and other pentatonics (not plain major or minor) into modes like lydian and then even further into the harmonic/melodic minor scales with other pentatonics

my real question is does anyone have a formula or reasoning to figure out what 5 notes work best in each modal situation
cause right now ive taken a list of all the ionian derived modes and ive made a list of every possible combination of 5 note scales that stay diatonic but starting on each modal key

i guess a second question would be what kinds of different pentatonics do any of you use

(please no basic major/minor pentatonics! thats all good for me...and i hope most people reading this or i wont be getting much help)

PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 10:42 am 

What 5 best notes out of each mode is/are best?