VAI.COM

The Official Steve Vai Website Message Boards.
It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 4:41 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 6:19 pm 

Ok, so this is going to be a long post, full of info, looking for someone who can shed some light on the subject for me. First off, I have been playing guitar for about 11 years, but never worked on speed. Mostly, melodic riffs, and easy solo patterns and what not. I have been working for about the last year really focusing on building speed. Im hoping someone can tell me what the heck im doing wrong here, because its obviously something. So here is my 5 hour workout i do DAILY!

I start with a basic chromatic like this

-------------------------------------------------3-4-5-6---7-6-5-4---------------------------
----------------------------------------4-5-6-7---------------------8-7-6-5------------------
-------------------------------4-5-6-7---------------------------------------8-7-6-5---------
----------------------5-6-7-8---------------------------------------------------------9-8-7-6
-------------6-7-8-9---------------------------------------------------------------------------
---7-8-9-10------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

all downstrokes to the high e string, followed by all upstrokes coming back down...
i start at 50 bpm and go to about 110 bpm
then i do the same drill with alternate picking and start at about 50 bpm and make it to about 80 bpm before i cant go anymore

then i do the same drill, but like this

low e string ---------7-7-----7-7-7-7-----------------------------------------

first 2 notes downstroke, next 4 alt picking and do that for the whole scale, alternating starting with downstrokes and upstrokes. I do this and a few other exercises like this for about 3 hours, then follow up with about 2 hours of jamming to a backing track.

once again i only make it to quarternotes at about 80 bpm.