Learning the modes

Discuss playing styles and techniques, or share your own here.
bkeds
Newcomer

Hi, i've been playing guitar self taught for 4 years now and I've decided to finally learn the all the modes, in every key, in every position. I'm wondering the best way to go about this and if anyone has any links or tips to help?
Stephen Brown

Although the internet is a abundance of information it can sometimes be overwhealming. Be it full of great information or some really rather bad.

In all truth it's a mindfield out there. It goes the same with books also. Chord
books that can show you 1000 1 chords. Same goes for scale books. Some are great & some are just cashing in on....the guitar.

It does seem in recet years (last 25years lets say) that a type of guitar standard has emerged. Your notice that guitar school's have made use of these standards. CAGED system, three note's per sting postions. Which are the modes & arn't at the same time. Yes... hectic.

Books are really great learning tools but nothing,nothing beats a good teacher. You can literally take years off of your personal struggles in understanding.

Now'a'days everyone learns the notes in row method but hardly anyone learns the notes in their proper context. This is why I would recommend a teacher. To help you de-code the sum of things.

I'm still waiting for my books to talk to me. Having a conversation with a TV screen isn't that great either.

For some reason I thought Charlie Parker taught Miles Davis. He did.
burnt out

Just learn the MAJOR SCALE all across (and up and down) the entire fretboard in all Keys.

Then you will know all of the notes and all of the patterns for all of the modes.
Stephen Brown

burnt out wrote:Just learn the MAJOR SCALE all across (and up and down) the entire fretboard in all Keys.

Then you will know all of the notes and all of the patterns for all of the modes.