I'am to nervous to play!

Discuss playing styles and techniques, or share your own here.
jason wilhelm

I'am to nervous to play!

#1 Post by jason wilhelm » Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:56 pm

Well I have been playing guitar for over 14 years now,and one thing I can never get over is playing in front of people! It's hard for me to just try out a guitar pedal without looking over my back!When I was younger I did'nt care what anyone thought,so it was much simpler.Now that I have gotten older,developed my own style,and quit learning other peoples music(not that there's anything wrong with that!)it seems even harder.Alot of people say you get better the more you play out,but that chance is far and few between anymore.Needless to say I'am jamming with a band on the side playing cover tunes(changing them around a little bit)and having fun.However it's been a while since I have played out,and were supposed to play a show in July(plenty of time for practice!)It scares the shit out of me!It really pissses me off because I know I'am a good player,but when I get in front of people it makes me shake!(including my hands!).Getting smashed is not an option(nor getting High)so the easy remidies are out.Any suggestions!I know I'am not the only one with this problem,but I rarely read of other players on how they handle this other than getting drunk,or buzzed!

-SkiZ-

#2 Post by -SkiZ- » Fri Mar 23, 2007 10:45 pm

hmmm...tough question indeed. well I have no problem playing in front of people, i just don't think too much about it. maybe we're in a totally different situation, i've played for like 5 years or so, and I play in 2 metal bands, and at bars with a small audience...my only problem that i just stand there and play, no head banging nor showing any kind of excitement, wich is something i must change.