Time management..

Discuss playing styles and techniques, or share your own here.
Vaiagra

Anyone else in the same situation?

I've been playing for over ten years now. I'm pretty good, but not good enough technically. I spend more time thinking about theory than reading up on it or practicing scales :? .

Example: Sweep Arrpegios..
At the moment, I can pull off a few nice ones every now and then, but I can't really perform the actual technique flawlessly. It seems so boring and repeptitive to sit down and play the same thing over and over and over again with an annoying metronome clicking in the background. Maybe I'm just scared sh-tless of becoming a slave to technique, I don't know..

On average, I have about 3-4 free hours a day to practice, but for some reason I usually end up smoking/drinking/watching movies instead. I play for at least 8-12 hours over the weekend (alone and + band).

I'm not sure if this is a motivation issue, if I'm doing something wrong or if I need to find a better strategy and practice routine..

Any advice on time management?
Ricardo

It seems so boring and repeptitive to sit down and play the same thing over and over and over again with an annoying metronome clicking in the background.
Turn whatever you do that is repetative, into a cool rhythm with accents and funky off beats or some synchopation or something, and do it like a groove, a loop, to the metronome. Make sure it "feels" like something, then it becomes a more "fun" exercise. Even a sweep arp can be fun if you approach it from a more rhythmic angle, rather than just up and down four notes per beat, faster and faster. Start on the off beat 16th before the beat, on the up beat "&", or right after the beat. Or do an odd note sequence, but like even 4 feel with little pauses so your "groove" stays like 4/4 or something. Or make it all swing. Or do it like triplets, but again start on the off beats. Etc. Make it fun for yourself, but never look at the metronome as "boring".