Composing!!!

Discuss playing styles and techniques, or share your own here.
eXor

Hi, I want to write a song, not a simple GAD song but a real composistion like (but not as good as :roll: ) Steve Vai, Satch: Instrumental Melodic Guitar "stuff" I've tried to do this before, but I never really like the final result, if I just finished my song, I like it very much, after a few days/weeks I think "meh" and after a month or so I think "wow, did I write this crap? :x :( " So I really want to write something that is very carefully planned and that I still like when I'm 65 :)
So it would be really great if someone posts a sheme, or method or something like that, that is really helpfull with composing.

Thx in advance 8)
prman

My teacher once said to me (about composing) that: "What ever you do and whatever you think about it during the process, FINISH IT!". I think it`s the best advice one could give about composing and I`m grateful that he told me that.
matthias

i'm not that experienced in really composing songs, but don't be to hard with judging yourself, don't try to "compete" with others, such as vai, satriani and so on. Do your best and try to compose as often as you like and you will get better!! also, record many little ideas everyday or whenever they come along and after a month or so pick the best and use them for your composition. that's aslo what steve does!!
good luck,
matthias

www.myspace.com/matthiasjansen
PureVa|

eXor wrote:I've tried to do this before, but I never really like the final result, if I just finished my song, I like it very much, after a few days/weeks I think "meh" and after a month or so I think "wow, did I write this crap?