Login with a social network:

It is currently Wed Jan 17, 2018 4:07 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:26 am 

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:10 am
Posts: 3
Hi :)

I am from Poland, I use google translator so I hope that what I want to say will be understood :D

Here are some of my troubles.

Problem number 1

How can I create chord progression
which has to rely on emphasize character/mood of chosen scale?

How it looks chords progression (in the key of C major)
with ionian mood and how it looks chords progression with phrygian mood
(in the key of C major/e minor -efgabcd-)??

Each scale has its own characteristic chord progression?
There is such a thing as "phrygian progression" etc?

I dont understand how create ionian progression,dorian progression ,phrygian progression etc

Scale have own mood because of characteristic notes but how about progression.

Let's take this progressions:

Cmaj7 | Fmaj7 | G7 | - what mood we have here?
This is ionian progression,lyidian or mixolydian?
Which mood(of which mode/scale) is emphasized in this progression?And why?

What if play like this Cmaj7 | Fmaj7 | C7 |
Now it is lydian progression?

C7 is dominant for Fmaj7 ,but chord C7 contains non-diatonic note a# (for key of C).

And final question:
- how to keep character of chosen mode in progression, using modal interchange ?

Problem number 2

We have seven diatonic chords within one key.
Only one diatonic dominant V which determines tonal center I.

Other chords ii,iii,IV,V,vi,vii - how to determine each of them as a tonal center
they have only non-diatonic dominants.

In the key of C we have:
G7|Cmaj -diatonic

E7|Am - (also diatonic but in harmonic minor)
F#7| B dim.

What's next?

A7 to Dm is dorian move,or C#7 to Dm is more "dorianish"...or *Eb7 to Dm?

* triton substitution for non-diatonic A7 chord,in the key of C.

In reference to the problem 1

Someone told me that in natural scale cdefgab
we have two characteristic notes f & b for all modes
with exception of lydian (b & e) and locrian (c & f).


Problem number 3

how about harmonic: cdef g# ab
and melodic: cde f# g# ab?

Which notes are characteristic here?

In harmonic "ionian #4" scale (cdefg#ab)
we have three characteristic notes f,b and g#?

These three notes (f,b,g#) are characteristic for other inversions
(defg#abc/efg#abcd/fg#abcde etc)?

And on the same principle in melodic (cde f# g# ab )
we have three characteristic notes f#,b and g# for all seven modes?
Nothing changes?

What we can do with scales (f# g# abcde) and (g# abcde f#)?

BONUS Problem number 4

Scales, each of them is a sequence of appropriate intervals, one after the other.
What we do when we want to hear ionian scale/mode/mood?
We play W W H W W W H ascending


when we play the same notes descending what we play?
H W W W H W W and this is NOT ionian sequence :)
it is PHRYGIAN, right?

So,which scale we should play up and down to stay in ionian mood/mode?
ionian - ascending
dorian - descending

Unfortunately, staying with the root note we will change the key...do you have any thoughts about this???

Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 3:36 am 

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:10 am
Posts: 3
25082 members,50 views,0 answers...I'm astonished :shock:
Nobody has knowledge needed to help me?

Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group