New RG prestige :)

For discussion of Ibanez, other guitars, and general guitar topics.
Shade

New RG prestige :)

#1 Post by Shade » Tue Jan 08, 2008 8:07 pm

Scored myself an RGA121 with a natural finish from guitar center the other day for 450 bucks. I had been playing this guitar on and off for like 2-3 years but just couldn't justify spending 900 on it because of the plain, but subtlety elegant appearance. But saw it on clearance for 450 and boom, they had a deal lol.

The stock pickups are surprisingly not muddy-sounding to me. But I just don't like their over-all tonal character. Kind of...think cardboard in audible form. And I was wondering if yall had any recommendations as to what pickups would go well with this guitar. I think it has a mahogany body with a maple top, and I know wood isn't the end-all of factors when it comes to guitar tone, but I've never had a mahogany guitar before so...

The tone I'm looking for needs to be thick, but clear. I play heavy but I don't really go for a super saturated-distorted tone, so I like to be able to hear the notes in a chord and not have it sound like mush. As I mentioned before the stock pickups give me that, but I just don't really like the dynamics/feel/overall sound of them. I've played dimarzios before in my 7 string(Evo 7 and PAF-7) and really liked them, but there are so many choices and from the descriptions there seems to be a lot of pickups that deliver what I'm describing, just wanted to get some opinions.

Thanks in advance!!!

PS: Sorry for the 4269087542th "which pickup thread lol!"

NaturalJEM

#2 Post by NaturalJEM » Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:51 pm

450! Great grab!

I got an RGA121 a while back. I put an Evo in the bridge and a PAF Pro in the neck, couldn't be happier! However I've seen a lot of people that recommend tone zone or air norton. Either way, I think a nice Dimarzio upgrade is the way to go, just look into how hot, sharp, soft, warm or whatever you want your tone to be.

Shade