Kahler vs Floyd Rose

For discussion of Ibanez, other guitars, and general guitar topics.

Which one would you prefer?

Poll ended at Sat Oct 14, 2006 8:05 am

Ibanez lys. Floyd Rose bridges
21%
21%
21%
21%
Kahler type bridges
4%
Kahler type bridges
4%
Kahler type bridges
4%
Kahler type bridges
4%

Total votes: 84
nienturi

According to your experiences, which one would you pick up?

I know that lo pro edges and edges (for ibanez) are good. But even they go out of tune more easyly than kahlers'.

I have plans to get my own guitar built. So, i must decide well. Now, my decision is edge7 or lo pro edge7 (mostly lo pro edge7)

But i want my guitar has a tremolo unit, floating type. Moreover i want it to be in tune well, especially on bending... Shortly i need experinces, dudes...
j.arledge

if your guitar does not have a tremelo and you want to put one on it the kahler would be easier to have put on because of the way it works . I have never used a kahler before so i dont know much about them other then that .

i do know that the lo-pro 7s are good tremelos .
calos

It's very much personal prefference, I'd say try a few guitars with both for a good 20 mins each and form an opinion from that.

personaly I think the best floating trem for feel, stability and outright wammy madness, the Ibanez range are _the_ best.

peace
cal
slash89

Floyd Rose for me. It just feels better.
Ant711UK

Floyds are the better option. Kahler's can kill the sustain on certain guitars especially Les pauls.

Kahlers have a smoother response and are perfect for light vibrato while using chords etc. They sound OK for rock whammy bar stuff but the feel is different to a Floyd as the mechanism is housed inside a block of metal. Floyds feel slightly harder and allow a more aggresive style to sound the way it should because you're pulling at the back of the guitar in effect.