Who is the most influential musician for you?

For discussion of all general music topics, Favored Nations artists, Vai-related musicians and all other artists and bands.
Michella
Newcomer

Who is the most influential musician for you?

#1 Post by Michella » Sat Mar 24, 2007 1:44 am

Alright, i know that everyone gets inspired by someone. What i would like to know is who inpires you to make your music. After you tell us who, then say why and if you have a story of how then go ahead and tell us. :D

For me it would have to be Jethro Tull, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Incubus and a few other people.

The reason why is because Jethro Tull was what i practicaly grew up on and i absolutly loved the flute in it. So, i started playing flute and have never looked back.

As for the RHCP, I love the lyrics and the texture of the main singers vocals in the song. Not to mention the wonderful base. :D I kinda sound like him when i sing ( like the infliction in the voice ) cuz i have listined to him so much.

And lastly, Incubus was like my favorite band when i was 12 (ahhhh preteen years...lol) and i havent stoped listining to them since. The lyrics are wonderful as well as the vocals and the music itself is unigue! I mean, who else has heard of a band who sounds alot like Incubus.....Anyone? lol

I get inspired by alot of diffrent things everyday but those are just a few. OKAY GUY!!!! POST AWAY!!!!!! :D :D :D :D :D

Melodic Dreamer

#2 Post by Melodic Dreamer » Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:24 am

I have many people I would like to take something from, but to be honest with myself, the people who I hear in my playing in order would be

Brett Garsed
Greg Howe
Eric Johnson
Joe Satriani
Richie Kotzen
Mike Einziger
Michael Landau