A new Spakle on the board, with a Little Green man question

This is the forum for all Steve Vai-related discussion including Steve's albums, videos, performances and frequently asked questions.
Sparkle Blue
Newcomer

A new Spakle on the board, with a Little Green man question

#1 Post by Sparkle Blue » Sun Sep 05, 2004 10:58 am

Hai there you all!

It's great to have found this board. I'v been a Vai fan sinds a lot of years now. But never earlier discoverd this forum. But any way, it great to join the club. I'll be as active as I possible can in giving my helping hand as I hope that you on the board will be.
But I think there's no doubt about it. :wink:

:arrow: Well I do got my first question:
* Can any one help me finding the writen story of how Steve V. came on his creation of the song "Little green man".

:arrow: I am a music teacher at a junior high and we were working on "theme's and motive's in a song. We used as cover image the film "Close Encounters, of the thirt kind" and worked with the "5 tones"used to communicated with the alians. Steve used those 5 tones in his creation at the song "Little green man".

But eventhough I have listend and read some of Steve history, I don't have a story on that song. And now I want to link this song in my class to the theme of the film .

:arrow: So can anyone give me a hint or the story itself of how Steve created this song. :?:

It's a difficult question, but it's worth a try.

jemgirl

#2 Post by jemgirl » Sun Sep 05, 2004 11:50 am

welcome aboard sparkle blue!! in addition to youre question, i don`t have an idea.

cheers,
groetjes,

patricia

Psychlone

#3 Post by Psychlone » Sun Sep 05, 2004 5:16 pm

In the liner notes to the album, Steve says it started off as a song called "Garbage Wrapped in Skin" but somewhere along the line it morphed into a more upbeat concept. That's about the extent I know about its genesis.

Quikman4315

#4 Post by Quikman4315 » Sun Sep 05, 2004 11:53 pm

Little Green Men