What brought you to the guitar?

This is the forum for all Steve Vai-related discussion including Steve's albums, videos, performances and frequently asked questions.
Oliver_Reed

For me, my first memory was seeing the guitarist from "Sweet" playing on Top of The Pops and thinking - yeah, I wanna do that!

After that, My Dad bought me a cheap and nasty guitar because I whined so much; after that I took classical lessons and got really enthusiastic about it. So then my Dad bought me a proper classical guitar and I studied up until grade 5.

When I got my first job, someone played me "A whole lotta Rosie" one day. So I put the classical guitar away and bought a Strat copy and a Marshall amp and joined a band, doing AC/DC covers. The lead guitarist was into this cool guy called "Satriani" and so lent me a tape of "Surfing with the Alien"

Inspired by that I bought an Ibanez (550) and took lessons from a guy who introduced me to an album called "Eat 'em and Smile".

The rest...you can probably guess. :D

Ollie.
Reaper

Three words: Master of Puppets

(the S&M version)
shader

I had no desire to play. My parents bought me a cheap guitar/amp combo for Christmas 2000 (A Crate fat strat copy), so i said 'well, i might as well learn to play this'... i then discovered improvised lead (read: blues) and got addicted :twisted:

Interestingly, i used to listen to a lot of pop/rap/"rock" crap, then a month or two after getting my guitar, my tastes drastically changed to detest all of such things :)
RickAllen

Yngwie Malmsteen's Marching Out. I had a guitar with 5 strings but it just sat in the corner 'til I heard that recording. I still suck, but sometimes It sounds o.k. I am finally going to see the man in Nov. WooHooo!!!
SS

Short answer: my Dad.

Long answer: