What does steve want with a nylon string guitar?

Discuss Steve's guitars, set-up and equipment here. This forum is not for discussing general guitar topics.
Ryan Layton
Banned

What does steve want with a nylon string guitar?

#1 Post by Ryan Layton » Sat Nov 27, 2004 7:34 am

Why does steve want a nylon string guitar? He isnt' a classical player or anything and he doesn't do much finger picking. I'm not sure if the string spacing will be the same as it is on his normal guitars or if it will be standard classical width, and if its classical width, everyone that wants one is gonna have to make some serious changes to their playing to get used to the change.

I've been playing classical for several months now and i really like the tone of nylon string guitars better than steel strings. they are even louder if you play them correctly. When i jam with friends i often pick my nylon over my steel just because if sounds and feels better to me. maybe steve feels the same way?

Psychlone

#2 Post by Psychlone » Sat Nov 27, 2004 8:02 am

I disagree with you about making "serious changes" to their style. I've tried several nylon-strung classical guitars and enjoyed their sound and feel. Steve is all about the different sounds and I'm sure that if he wanted to he could make a nylon-string howl like an angel that had just stubbed its toe.

Ryan Layton
Banned

#3 Post by Ryan Layton » Sat Nov 27, 2004 11:20 am

maybe you played nylon string guitars with steel string spacing between the strings. the neck on traditional nylon stringers are much wider.

b2

#4 Post by b2 » Sat Nov 27, 2004 12:43 pm

Of course it is because of the sound.
I have a lot of steel string guitars and one nylon string.
And I bought the nylon string just because of the sound.
If you are a guitarist who like many different kinds of music and styles
then you must have every kind of a guitar :)
It's the same as, why does Steve use a sitar sometimes?
Of course because of the sound.

Mr_Guitarman