VAI.COM

The Official Steve Vai Website Message Boards.
It is currently Mon Sep 22, 2014 4:19 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2014 6:34 pm 
Offline
Newcomer

Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 3:34 pm
Posts: 5
I have a Legacy I amp and i do love the tone and having the delay and chorus in the effects loop sounds so much better but.... every time I switch the pedals on or off I get this huge popping through the effects loop. I have True bypass TC electronics pedals and they are brand new and brand new cables as well.

Any ideas on how to stop this from happening?

Thanks in advance for any help on this.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2014 11:56 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 2:18 am
Posts: 1443
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
true bypass pedals can pop.

I also don't like changing effects that are in the effects loop- it can change volume and cause noise and stuff-

for chrous and delay in the effects loop - you might want to ditch pedals and try something like a

gmajor
gmajor2
gforce

i can help you more
but i need more descriptions- what pedals and what exactly does it it or sound and when.

pops in the fx loop isn't enough info- i need more info

also a good quality pedal with a buffer is better than truebypass- i think truebypass is a myth


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2014 6:02 pm 
Offline
Newcomer

Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 3:34 pm
Posts: 5
Its a popping when I press the switches on the effects pedals. Sends a huge pop through the system and out to the main speaker. Its a TC Chorus and Delay. I love the tone of the TC stuff mostly. True bypass was never a reason I got the pedals.

Gforce would be nice but that more than I think I am going to spend for a popping problem fix. I keep the effects tame enough in the background to leave them on most times.

I had also had a response from Carl Martins guys that the looper's bringing pedals in and out doesn't cause the popping and its 1/5 the cost of replacing my pedals with a gforce.

I had wondered if the true bypass was the issue since the circuit isn't loaded down till the button was engaged.

Thank you for the great response and ideas!!!

ML


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 12:12 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 2:18 am
Posts: 1443
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
a g-major 2 is the same as a gforce and probably the same price as a good looper

what you should be doing is bypassing the whole effects loop
not just individual effects in the loop

you'll always have issues if you try to do that

i think the legacy ftsw can bypass the fx loop and reverb at the same time

instead of switching off pedals turn off the whole fx loop

chorus into the front of the amp might be better too


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2014 3:09 pm 
Offline
Newcomer

Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 3:34 pm
Posts: 5
All it took was adding a resistor between the input jack and ground (A carvin tech helped me get the right rating) and its all quiet now.

Thanks for the great support even on amps they don't make anymore and getting me the right fix for the issue I was having.

:headbang


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group