Steve with a new amp?

Discuss Steve's guitars, set-up and equipment here. This forum is not for discussing general guitar topics.
Message
Author
User avatar
Jemfever
Member
Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 3:06 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Steve with a new amp?

#1 Post by Jemfever » Sun Jul 01, 2007 3:13 pm

Look at this picture:
http://www.vai.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=22817

Notice the combo between the two 4x12 cabs. I suppose that Steve uses the amp rather then one of the other musicians. But what for?
Any ideas?
Jeroen, please help.

seljer
Member
Member
Posts: 798
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 6:11 am
Location: Slovenia

#2 Post by seljer » Sun Jul 01, 2007 3:53 pm

random guesses:

a) its for acoustic guitar/the acoustic half of the sweet double neck if he's touring it
though fender's acoustic amp doesn't have cream knobs and has a different knob layouts

b) its for the sitar

c) steve wanted some real fendery cleans for certain songs?

Zeds.Ded
Member
Member
Posts: 1425
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 1:52 pm
Location: Ireland

#3 Post by Zeds.Ded » Sun Jul 01, 2007 4:15 pm

maybe one of the electric violins are running through it?

User avatar
Jemfever
Member
Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 3:06 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

#4 Post by Jemfever » Sun Jul 01, 2007 4:45 pm

Zeds.Ded wrote:maybe one of the electric violins are running through it?
Hm I don't think so, simply because then the amp would not be positioned between Steve's cabs.
I'm not quite sure if this is a Fender amp. Might be one of the Carvins that Joe Walsh uses as well.

pagliai
Member
Member
Posts: 804
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2003 7:45 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

#5 Post by pagliai » Sun Jul 01, 2007 6:10 pm

it is one of the steve amps no doubts about it,so in my opinion 3 possibilities
1 steve blend the sound of this fender with the legacy sound
2 in some piece he needs a special sound so he puts the fender
3 it is a triamp issue but i dont think so 'cause the fender should be the dry signal so no i don't think so.

quiksilver98
Member
Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 8:57 am

#6 Post by quiksilver98 » Sun Jul 01, 2007 10:59 pm

He needs the fender for his new double neck guitar....... geesh, its not hard to figure out. ;):P

User avatar
Jemfever
Member
Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 3:06 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

#7 Post by Jemfever » Tue Jul 03, 2007 11:23 am

quiksilver98 wrote:He needs the fender for his new double neck guitar....... geesh, its not hard to figure out. ;):P
Hmm, I'm not guite sure, because usually acoustic guitars go directly into the desk/ mixer.

seljer
Member
Member
Posts: 798
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 6:11 am
Location: Slovenia

#8 Post by seljer » Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:08 pm

OR is it Zack Wiesinger's amp?

edit:
nope, as more pictures come up from the new gigs we can slowly piece together the puzzle :P

Zack seems to using the new Fender Champ reissue http://www.andreashammer-music.de/Vai2007/sld003.htm
heh, only 5 watts is enough when mic'd up

still can't really tell the Fender is for
http://www.andreashammer-music.de/Vai2007/sld051.htm
http://www.andreashammer-music.de/Vai2007/sld055.htm
http://www.andreashammer-music.de/Vai2007/sld062.htm

NOT!!!
Member
Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 6:35 am

#9 Post by NOT!!! » Wed Jul 04, 2007 5:50 am

this amp can be used for every shit! It could even be used for a bass, because it sounds good for the band...so what?

All we know, is, that the cable goes from the input of the amp somewhere backstage. It could be connected to Daves rack, to Steves Rack, to someones butt...who knows?

NOT!!!
Member
Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 6:35 am

#10 Post by NOT!!! » Wed Jul 04, 2007 5:51 am

pagliai wrote:it is one of the steve amps no doubts about it
yes, he paid for it...

User avatar
joshua202020
Member
Member
Posts: 440
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 2:15 am
Contact:

#11 Post by joshua202020 » Wed Jul 04, 2007 8:11 am

NOT!!! wrote:
pagliai wrote:it is one of the steve amps no doubts about it
yes, he paid for it...
$150 I think..

Petie
Member
Member
Posts: 374
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 4:35 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

#12 Post by Petie » Wed Jul 04, 2007 2:53 pm

When Steve last came to Australia in 2004 he used a rented Marshall combo for the fretless neck of the triple neck guitar. This is probably the same thing - when he gets to the US and can afford to ship his own gear, I'm sure you'll see a Legacy combo in that spot.

The amp Steve is using there is a Fender Super Sonic, which is designed to copy Bassman and Vibrolux sounds as well as high gain sounds.

seljer
Member
Member
Posts: 798
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 6:11 am
Location: Slovenia

#13 Post by seljer » Wed Jul 04, 2007 3:03 pm

the Super Sonic is pretty close, but I've been relentlessly googling all of Fender's amps and haven't found one with that exact layout for the knobs :?

Petie
Member
Member
Posts: 374
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 4:35 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

#14 Post by Petie » Wed Jul 04, 2007 3:26 pm

Ah, you're right, it's not a Super Sonic!

Image

Fender Dual Professional combo.

http://www.scottymoore.net/95dualpro.html

The CS dual professional is a 100watt 2 channel amplifier with 2 12" Celestion "Vintage 30" 60 watt 8 ohm speakers. It features all Point to Point Hand Wiring, Dual Selectable Volume and "Fat" Controls, Treble, Bass, and Mid Controls, Built in Vintage "Tube Reverb" with Dwell, Mix, and Tone Controls, Vintage Vibrato Circuit with Speed and Intensity Controls, Effects Loop, Birch Plywood Open Back Cabinet, Tilt Back Legs, Ivory Radio Knobs, Jeweled Pilot Light, 2-Button Footswitch for Volume Select and Vibrato on/off and a 13-Ply Baltic Birch Plywood Cabinet.
For tubes it has 5 12AX7A / 7025s, 1 6V6, 4 6L6WGC / 5881s and a Solid State Rectifier. It measures H 19.87" x W 26.15" x D 10.37" and weighs 76lbs.

NOT!!!
Member
Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 6:35 am

#15 Post by NOT!!! » Wed Jul 04, 2007 9:47 pm

Petie wrote:when he gets to the US and can afford to ship his own gear, I'm sure you'll see a Legacy combo in that spot.
do you think the Legacy combo is only sold in the US? 5 days ago I played one here in Germany!

You know, all these speculations seem to get really stupid. If I was Steve, I´d put some amps here and there, not using them, just to see what´s going on in the forum. :lol:

Post Reply